© ERIN W. LEWIS LAW. All rights reserved.

Website designed by Creative Instinct

  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle

July 26, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

Texting and Driving Comes With a Price: New Law in Arkansas

August 10, 2017

Texting and driving is something no one wants to admit to doing, but people do, from time to time, text friends and family members while driving. Due to a rise in accidents caused by this distracting practice, states are implementing laws to deter their citizens from picking up their cell phone while on the roadways.

 

As of July 31, 2017, in Arkansas, a person convicted of using a cellphone while driving can be fined $250.00 if it is his or her first time committing the offense. Each subsequent violation of this law can land you a fine of $500.00. Furthermore, if you cause a collision due to you texting and driving, you may have to pay double the fine.

 

The new law states:

           

“[A] driver of a motor vehicle shall not operate a motor vehicle while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication; or access, read, or post to a social networking site.”

 

According to the new law, you can still use your cell phone for the purpose making a phone call, reporting illegal activity or an emergency, and navigating with GPS.

 

[A Link to the New Law: http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2017/2017R/Acts/ACT706.pdf]

 

If you are charged with texting and driving, it will likely be the arresting officer’s word against yours at trial; therefore, it is important to have an attorney on your side to represent you. Contact Erin W. Lewis today for a free consultation and to learn more about how this new law affects you.

Please reload

Follow Us

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Archive
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon